A Christian Liberal Arts University, Est. 1846

Communication Department

More Than Words

With a 95 percent career placement rate, the Communication Department excels at creating connections between students and businesses across the country. Our Communication programs cover exactly what employers are looking for: leadership, interpersonal and team-based communication, writing, graphic design, branding, image rhetoric, and many other topics.

Our students become proficient at clear communication and target audience messaging. They gain the skills necessary to enter any setting—online, in print, or in person; professional or otherwise—and effectively engage with others.

Building Communication Professionals

Our students aren’t just sitting in classrooms learning; they are professionals working hands-on to develop and sharpen their skills. Our students perform communication audits, evaluate website effectiveness, send book proposals and query letters, execute communication campaigns, and write for The Echo, Taylor’s award-winning student newspaper.

Faculty also bring students to regional and national conferences, like the International Association of Business Communicators (IABC), regional IABC conventions in Cincinnati and Cleveland, and Public Relations Society of America’s (PRSA) Indianapolis chapter meeting.

Speaking of Your Future
Graduate Programs

Our Communication students have gone on to study at many graduate programs, including:

  • American University
  • Ball State University
  • Baylor University
  • Bethel University
  • Carnegie-Mellon University
  • DePaul University
  • Fuller Theological Seminary
  • Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI)
  • Indiana University School of Law
  • Michigan Technological University
  • Northwestern University
  • Northwestern University, Medill School of Journalism
  • Olivet Nazarene University
  • Radford University
  • St. Thomas University School of Law
  • Taylor University Graduate School
  • University of Kentucky
  • University of Michigan
  • University of Missouri, Missouri School of Journalism
  • Westminster Theological Seminary
  • Wheaton College Graduate School
Career Opportunities

The practical experience you receive with any of our Communication degrees will prepare you for a career in many vocations, from journalism to event planning to novel writing. The Communication faculty and the Calling and Career Office work hard to put students in contact with Taylor alumni and partnering organizations for internship and employment opportunities.

Learn more about Taylor University’s Communication, Language, & Writing philosophy.

Faculty & Staff
Department Heads

Alan Blanchard

Associate Professor of Journalism

alan_blanchard@taylor.edu

Donna Downs

Department Co-Chair & Associate Professor of Communication

dndowns@taylor.edu

Faculty

Timothy Berkey

Instructor of Communication

timothy_berkey@taylor.edu

Julie Borkin

Assistant Professor of Communication

julie_borkin@taylor.edu

Jeff Groeling

Professor of Communication

jfgroeling@tayloru.edu

Jeanne Sigworth

Assistant Professor of Communication

jnsigworth@taylor.edu

Linda Taylor

Assistant Professor of Professional Writing

linda_taylor1@taylor.edu

Adjunct

Donna Haviland

Communication Faculty Adjunct

dnhaviland@taylor.edu

Staff

Tammy Armstrong

Communication Program Assistant

tmarmstrong@taylor.edu